Self-Reflection (Who Am I?)

Lately, I can answer reflective questions quite attentively, especially when it refers to my family, my friends, and myself…

Who am I?

I’m a combination of things, both admirable and unappealing; I’m a likeable idiot, a tempered lover, an insane peacemaker, and a lazy creator (amongst other things).

family

Who do I call family?

My family are an extension of myself.  Each member (known and unknown) I perceive as mine. Even if I decide to avoid them, they are part of me forever; in love, in hate, in sickness, in health, alive, and dead.

friends

Who do I call friend? 

A friend, to me, is a companion. I can depend on him/her in most situations, and in return they can do the same. Although I will not jump off a cliff for a friend, I’ll devote my time. I’ll be emotionally and physically there for a friend when they need it the most.

foe (1)

Who do I call foe?

Simply, anyone or anything that makes me feel lesser. Anyone or anything who makes me forget that I’m good enough…is my enemy.

This is me.

This is the truth.

I know myself now more than I ever have before. Why? I have experienced the benefits and disadvantages of independence (well, at least a small taste of it so far).

Fortunately, university life has forced me to.

university

There’s a large difference between post-secondary education and primary education. In elementary and high-school (to some level), students get teachers whose jobs are not only to be educators but also caregivers, rewarding good students and scolding bad ones. However, in post-secondary (in universities and colleges) there is a dangerous freedom. Professors and Teaching Assistants don’t have to be caregivers, their job is to be, simply, educators. You get to choose if you want to show up for lectures…and that freedom is dangerous if you have no will to learn, to develop.

Thankfully, I did want to learn.

I’ve been finding myself, developing myself.

I’m more confident, assertive, and more conscious than I was when I first started university. Joining clubs, participating in school activities, embracing group projects and presentation, and having good role models (e.g. inspiring family members, credible educators, woke activists, intelligent celebrities), these have sculpted me into the person I’ve become today.

And of course, I have days when all my self-assurance gets washed away and that question (who am I?) is more difficult to answer. These are days when I’m angry at myself because of mistakes, fear, procrastinations, inability to reach certain goals, helplessness in certain situations, and excreta.

 I self-reflect even more when my self-assurance falls.

 I self-reflect in transit (buses and trains), in long checkout lines, while eating, before I sleep, and when I wake up.  Woah, why? (one might say). Well, it kind of like updating a mental dairy. When self-reflecting I’m making sure that I am mentally okay, that I’m not forgetting something that I need to do, or unnecessarily drowning in worry.

Self-reflection invites people to ditch their egos/pride and judge themselves (both physically and mentally) with purified senses.

who am I (3)

You can ask yourselves questions like:

Who am I?  How do I treat others? Do I participate in stereotypical, racist, sexist, and other derogatory commentary? Do I have good role models? Do I have good morals? Am I physically and mentally okay? Do I need to get help in anyway?

Please, if your answers are not satisfactory, develop yourself, ask for help, ponder, act…never ignore your problems. 

 


If you don’t self-reflect often I encourage you to.

We should all be our best selves!

I’ll post something new every Tuesday! 

Like, comment & follow my little blog if you wish to.

I usually return the favor!

Related posts: 

One thought on “Self-Reflection (Who Am I?)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

