Raw Artistry (Celebrating Various Spontaneous / Imperfect Art Forms!)

 

“That rawness, it seems to be looked for in all aspects of life.”

I wrote this in my free-writing book three years ago, and I keep going back to the word…

“Raw,

adjective,

(of an emotion or quality) strong and undisguised” 

synonyms intense, passionate, fervent, powerful, violent; 

unconcealed, unrestrained, uninhibited

Other sources refer to a raw substance as something at or close to its natural state, unpurified, unfinished, imperfect, untamed.

I hope that my artistry is perceived as raw.

I hope it illustrates the real me.

Here are some expressive practices that I’ve tried, and other discovered practices that I wish to try soon:

Writing

Free Writing

“Free writing is a prewriting technique in which a person writes continuously for a set period of time without regard to spelling, grammar, or topic. It produces raw, often unusable material, but helps writers overcome blocks of apathy and self-criticism” (Wikipedia, 2017).

FreewritingI was introduced to the process of Free Writing by my Writer’s Craft teacher in Grade 12, Ms. Sacchetti. She told us to buy a journal to free-write in everyday.  And we free-wrote, before every class.

“Let your mind flow, don’t stop writing until your given time runs out,” Ms. Sacchetti would say.  

Sometimes we were given topics to write about, sometimes weren’t, but we always had control over how our journal entries were written (how it began and concluded).

Free Writing was liberating.

Personally, I feel like my mind is always running wild nowadays due to all my hobbies and aspirations. Putting them (those thoughts and ideas) on paper feels very nice, hence why fell in love with writing. The act of letting my thoughts and ideas exist elsewhere, out from my head and into the world, is very satisfying.

Creative Writing is freeing;

It stabilizes the mind and warms the heart.

 

The next expressive writing form to try is the 30 Days Writing Challenge:

Like NaNoWriMo, it’s popularized by websites like Wattpad & Scribendi, each with their own rules/twists to the challenge; Sites like Scribendi encourages users to give themselves various writing prompts for each day that can be used to create various stories. While Wattpad encourages new and old users to write a novel within 30 days (#JustWriteIt).

 

Visual Arts

Sketching

I had Visual Art class in every year of high-school, simply because I knew myself well…

I needed motivation, a purpose, to take time out of my day to sketch/paint.

However, now that I’m out of high-school, studying Management & Professional Writing in University, things like sketching/painting aren’t re-occurrent activities (well, as much as I would like). Sketching only happens when I have a project or an assignment that inspires me to do it.

But when I do feel the need to sketch however, a wave peace radiates all over me and in that moment, it takes a lot to get me out of that state.

sketching

The next expressive visual art form to try is Spontaneous Painting:

“Spontaneous Painting [popularized by Dr. Susan Bello] is a self-discovery process and unique approach in the creative arts that develops the participant’s authentic Self and creative personality. This process benefits both artists as well as people with no prior artistic experience who are curious to connect to their artist within. Inside of everyone exists an unknown essential Self yearning to create, if given the opportunity… Participants learn how to spontaneously create powerful paintings and express onto a blank canvas their unconscious symbolic images…(Spontaneous Painting, 2010).

 

Craft Art/ Arts and Crafts

Clay Sculpting

The only Craft Art I’ve participated in is Clay Sculpting.  

My grade 9 Art teacher had told us to mold our favourite animals out of the blocks of clay that she had passed around. Someone created a lion, another a tiger, then a snake, a shark, a dolphin, a bird, and much more.

At that time, my favourite animal was a Peacock. I thought Peacock’s looked very beautiful and elegant, so I’d sculpted one. A male peacock, with blue fur and green feathers with scattered dots of blues, yellow and reds.

I believe my face was stuck in a thoughtful state as I sculpted, as I carved out the detail in the peacock’s head, neck, belly, and feathers. Although it’s not perfect in anyway, it’s mine.

Yes, I still have the peacock, but his in pretty bad shape. Brace yourselves, its been seven years…

 

 

 

The next expressive Craft Art form to try is Jewelry Making:

I want to able to make beautiful necklaces with unique earth stones, crystals, gems, etc. 

 

Music

Song-writing

Let me explain…I’m not going to claim that I’m a great song writer. Writing songs, to me, is just one of those things that I would do when I’m alone, with nothing to do (which really isn’t that often these days). Sometimes, humming songs I’ve heard on the radio gets quite boring, I rather compose my own jam in some moments.

songwriting

I get words, phrases, rhythms, stuck in my head sometimes…so I make something out of it.

The next expressive music form to try is Instrumental:

“An instrumental is a musical composition or recording without lyrics, or singing, although it might include some inarticulate vocals, such as shouted backup vocals in a Big Band setting. The music is primarily or exclusively produced by musical instruments” (Wikipedia, 2017).

Like I talked about in my previous post, My Guitar Story, I recently bought a guitar (Red Epiphone DR100 with Gold Hardware). I’m currently learning how to play this instrument, because I want to able to compose music by myself (and for myself).


I believe that sometimes we should create, and leave the thinking/tweaking/editing for later.

What do you think? 

My next post is coming soon. 

Like, comment & follow my little artsy blog if you wish to!


Related Posts: 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Raw Artistry (Celebrating Various Spontaneous / Imperfect Art Forms!)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

